UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

If you don’t want to, you don’t have to

on August 7, 2017

You don't have to, if you don't want to

Can’t seem to get this song and melody out of my head. So I penned this original song on Monday after work way back when 😉

Verse 1:
I have seen it so many times before,
Right in front of my eyes.
There in that moment, it seemed like everything was perfect,
But in a blink of an eye, eye, eye,
You realised, that this was not what you wanted at all.

Verse 2:
You started running away,
Finding places to hide,
Messages left unanswered, with no reason why.
Threw it away, without a second glance,
Leaving me to fix the pieces.

Chorus:
So now I’ve learned to say,
If you don’t want to, you don’t have to,
If you don’t want to stay, just go.
If you don’t want to move, then don’t.
Just don’t keep changing your mind.
Cause if you don’t want to, you don’t have to.

Verse 3:
I’ve been told I’m a realist,
When it comes to the ways of the heart.
But did you know I’m a hopeless romantic in my mind.
Too often have I’ve seen it where people say they’re different,
Then they jump out when the going gets tough.

Verse 4:
So if you are truly different from the others, show me,
I’m inclined to give this all in,
but you must know there’s no taking it back.
It’s either all in or all out,
It could be the most magical thing ever or the most heart shattering mess.

Chorus
Bridge:

Just know, I’ll be fine.
You won’t find me crying on my pillow at midnight,
Cause I can stand on my own two feet alone,
Ready to conquer anything that life throws my way 😉
Cause well… there’s nothing holding me back.

Chorus
Ending

Cause I can’t keep waiting forever for you.
I need a sure thing.

Are you?

Leave a Reply

