UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

Week 1: Self love reflection – Kindness Challenge

on June 23, 2017

Self love

Ah self <3. What better way to start the Kindness Challenge than at the very beginning?

Generally if we don’t take care of ourselves, how can we take care of others? Although with my personality type- I tend to be kinder to others without a second thought.

But to myself? It takes an art of practice! It wasn’t until I moved out to my own apartment that I realised that I’ve spent most of my life taking care of others and worrying about their needs but never really about mine. Well besides career and studies ( I’ve always had that down pat!) For me, it’s always been health- taking the time out when I needed without berating or judging myself.

Which is a challenge in essence as I love being on the go and doing a million things at once, that I sometimes admittedly forget I’m only human. It wasn’t until I reached burnout from my personal and professional life that I realised that while burning the candles at both ends look pretty, it really isn’t sustainable in the long run! Sure I’ve taken time off work during the past 6 months- but there’s was always study or something another that warranted the fast paced life XD

That’s what the next 2 weeks of my Winter break from study and work are about =) taking it easy and not living the touch and go world 😉

What I learnt:
That there will always be another job, another assignment and another urgent to do list. But there’s only one of me and I need to take care of myself as health is essential =)
What I will and have stopped doing…

• Stopped berating myself from sleeping in or needing to take a nap when I’m worn out 😉

• Planning a million things at once and getting frustrated when that single one thing isn’t done

• Ignoring when my body/brain is telling me I’m tired and I need to rest =)

What I will work on and start doing 😉
• Going back to my nature walks, love them to bits!

What surprised me…
Once I made this little mantra up, I was surprised how my energy levels were rejuvenated =)

Unibookworm mantra

If you want to read more about my thoughts of self care, check out my Seeds4Life article! =)

Leave a Reply

