UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

#16. Pay ze bills 

on April 19, 2017
Pay ze bills

Leisa G iStock Image

Ah bills. The reality of moving out. Where rent and utilities- gas, water and electricity aren’t free 😉

There’s a few ways to set up paying ze bills so you worry less about the fines when you forget and enjoying your fine apartment/place.

Rent & Utilities:
Direct debit of course works for rent and utilities. But personally for me, I like to go down reception and pay in person- so I know there were no delays in processing or issues in getting the funds. While for gas and water, that’s included in my rent- so no worries there 😉
Electricity wise, I prefer looking at the actual amount so I can monitor my usage (if I need to use less electricity or not). Then I BPay it. And to make sure I don’t forget- it sits in my iPod calendar as a reminder.

Funny story though… I actually had visions of my electricity bill being high like $100 with all my cooking (clearly I don’t know how electricity bills work) but thank goodness it was a normal $80 for 2 months =) Yay for off-peak electricity usage 😉 woot!

Mobile phone:
Sure set up a direct debit but for goodness sake make sure you have money sitting there! I learnt this the hard way cause seeing how I use a Auspost visa card, I totally forgot that I didn’t have enough funds on it. Cue fine of $10 making my bill almost $50, yikes! Now? You’ve guessed it! Auto reminder in calendar to top up 😉

Travel:
Again, auto reminders will make your life so much easier. The Myki app is awesome cause it tells me how many days I have left in my monthly pass so I top up. No fines for me for fare evasion 😉

Automate everything and you’ll never miss a bill again =)

Leave a Reply

