UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

#15. Operate a washing machine

on April 18, 2017

Growing up I rarely used/had to operate a washing machine for my clothes. Seeing how we had a top loader, it would pretty much go on a rampage (oh believe me, it actually flooded the laundry room once with just socks and towels!). So handwash was the norm (so old school).

To no avail, I tried convincing my parents to get a front loader but their philosophy was, if it ain’t broke- it’s ain’t new. And even if it was broke- fix it. Which in a way was environmentally friendly. But I was like what about for the busy career people, (ahem me)- I don’t have time to hand wash! That’s what a machine is for.

Needless to say when I ventured out on my own- I had to take washing machine 101 class. The humour is not lost on me, a 20something who doesn’t know how to use a washing machine! Reminiscent from Rachel in Friends 😉

So here’s how to operate a coin washing machine front loader…

[It’s not like I didn’t know how to turn it on and what settings to have it at, it’s where to fill what confused the heck out of me]!

#1. Shove all your clothes into the machine.

#2. Tamper the settings if need be, I usually go for cold if I’m washing my dresses to avoid shrinkage. Warm is fine for towels and socks =)

#3. Open the top mini lid (where the detergent and fabric softener goes) – it does have some faint markings what to put where 😉

Detergent wise:
Usually half cup (or whatever it says on the side of the box)

Fabric softener:
Haha, first time I did my laundry at my apartment I poured quite a bit of softener then saw the warning sign [Don’t overfill! Leads to flooding]. Oh well it was too late by then. Not to worry, I didn’t flood the entire apartment floor 😉

Then there was the other time when a residential advisor gave me some spare fabric softener and it did everything but soften. My towels came out rock solid and smelt a little weird o_O

This came to my rescue 😉 smells nice =D and actually softens.

Softener
Top recommend and half a cup max 😉

#4. Close the lid and machine door

#5. Put money in and press start

Tada!
P.S: Thanks to my roommate and a random resident who helped me 😉

Leave a Reply

