UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

#6. Fashion on a budget

on April 7, 2017

fashion

When I moved to my New York/Paris style apartment the one big thing on my mind was- where am I going to fit all my clothes?! Turns out somehow with a mini closet, bed drawers and my ingenious storage buckets, somehow it worked ๐Ÿ˜‰

And after unpacking everything, the consensus was- I have way too many clothes (27 work dresses, what are the chances!) and shoes XD (donโ€™t ask me how, the shoes fetish follow me even when I donโ€™t shop!)…

Sure 27 dresses sound like a lot, but after wearing the same dresses all year round- it does get like a same old same old feeling. Which is why I devised the fashion on a budget tips ๐Ÿ˜‰ sure it seems easy just to buy a new outfit, but with following tips- old becomes new again!

Blazers and jackets
Current favourite go to jacket is the epic navy blue blazer with gold buttons from ValleyGirl =) Iโ€™m really into the preppy 1950s style and this jacket is a perfect complement with all my dresses.

I donโ€™t know what it is, but pairing a different jacket with a dress suddenly brings out a different light. Invest in good quality blazers and jackets and itโ€™s so worth it, you just have to know where all the bargains are ๐Ÿ˜‰ Iโ€™ve never paid more than $30 for an awesome jacket, even leather ones!

Cardigans
Same goes for cardigans, great for summer in the cooler nights and winter for keeping warm ๐Ÿ˜‰ double win!

Flower dress pearls

Belts
Love adding belts to dresses- itโ€™s such a New Girl Jessica Day thing (which you probably guessed is my style icon). Current favourite is the brown waisted one =) another awesome complement to my dresses.

Shoes and stockings
Fun fact: simply pairing stockings with your shoes creates a whole new outfit! Just the other day, I wore one of my staple dress ($20) with stockings with my Ked like shoes (from Kmart for $4!) and it pretty much emulated Taylor Swiftโ€™s look for much less =)

My default work outfit was dress with black leggings but now with stockings (especially patterned ones) my work world has changed. Note I actually didnโ€™t have to buy these ones, my mother got them for me ages ago. So win!

Accessories- necklaces and scarfs and beanies
Confession: I have way too many scarves and beanies accumulated over the years and now with the chillier season here- every different one paired with an outfit equals a new wardrobe! Same goes with necklaces =)

Hufflepuff house colours

So what I learnt is that you can still look awesome and preppy on a budget- you just have to be resourceful with what you currently already have (which everything I mentioned above I already owned) before forking out for something completely new. And it doesnโ€™t mean you donโ€™t get to buy anything new forever, it just means choosing which bits and pieces you need from above before committing to get that new dress! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

