UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

Tell me something good

on January 29, 2017
Haleakala Park

workd.via.photos Instagram

‘Tell me something good,’ said Will Traynor to Louisa Clark. The most captivating words of the Me before You film (based on the book by Jojo Moyes). Those 4 little words inspired my Sunday morning songwriting session 😉 Let me know what you all think!

The video that inspired this 😉

*can’t seem to find the ‘good’ scene, but it definitely was there!

Tell me something good
Original song lyrics by Unibookworm

*The music tune is to One Republic’s Marchin’ On song!
Ryan Tedder is such an amazing songwriter!

[Verse 1]:
It all started in the middle of the night.
I wasn’t sure what you were asking on the phone.
But somethin’ told me to say yes.

[Verse 2]:
To take my chances to see how this would go 😉
You ended the night with a smiley face and said let’s talk about this tomorrow.
Smiling to myself, I fell asleep wondering what it could be.

[Verse 3]:
So we met that night.
And it was magical.
Endless conversations and laughter.
Never wanting it to end.
The night when we became best friends.

[Chorus]:
You always say the right thing.
Exactly what I want to hear.
Exactly what I need to hear.
I never have to say,
Tell me something good.
Tell me something good,
Cause you always do.

[Verse 4]:
Then you go away and do the impossible.
And make me smile even when I don’t want to.
Or feel like it.
How do you always work your magic?

[Verse 5]:
There’s a million things you do that make me smile.
Even when I’m not with you.
Like the way you say please or pleasure as always.
How our ESP is on point even though we’re miles away.
Or just the simple way you say, night for the day.

[Chorus]:
You always say the right thing.
Exactly what I want to hear.
Exactly what I need to hear.
I never have to say,
Tell me something good.
Tell me something good,
Cause you always do.

[Verse 7]:
Please tell me you won’t disappear.
I can’t help thinking.
Yet something tells me that you’re different.
Not like the others, cause you stuck it out in the thick and thin.

[Verse 8]:
But then something happened and my walls went up.
The inevitable tragic ending was coming at us.
Just when I did…

[Bridge]:
You turn around and say, I thought we were best friends.
Cause right then and there, you declare- we’re either all in or all out.
I choose all in, you?
I say, I do too.

[Ending chorus]
You always say the right thing.
Exactly what I want to hear.
Exactly what I need to hear.
I never have to say,
So tell me something good.
Cause you always do.

Leave a Reply

