UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

I’m a history buff and would ask…

on May 22, 2016

I'm a history buff and I would ask...

 

Welcome to my new Career Chat sub series! πŸ˜‰ A few years ago, it all started with the idea to ask the greats who’s been there and done that, the secrets to success. Over time it kinda got put on a back bench cause I actually don’t know many entrepreneurs in real life. But after rewatching National Treasure over the weekend, it hit me – history has a plethora of people who changed the world from where they stood. So why not ask them; life’s hardest questions?

For today’s I’m a history buff and would ask Albert Einstein, the physicist genius… (*This interview is all fictional, his quotes on the other hand are real πŸ˜‰ Writing this as in if I was in his shoes)

Unibookworm (UB) 1. These days there’s a lot of high expectations for 20somethings to succeed. But what does success actually look like?

Albert Einstein (AE): The first thing I would say is, “Strive not to be a success, but rather be of value.” Success is defined on your own terms, something you do for you. And most of the pressure to succeed stems from fearing you’ll fall flat. While value is changing the world from where you stand. You do things not for yourself but to help others. That should be your end goal. Β You’ll be amazed what you can truly do when you shift your mindset from you to others.

 

UB: 2. Great words of wisdom to live by Albert! Which brings me to my next question, what would you say to students who finished university and know what they don’t want to do rather than what they do?

AE: A personal favourite of mine of life’s most mind boggling questions. To this I would add, “If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research would it?”Β That’s right, your 20’s is a decade of research, experimenting, trying out new things where you will surprise yourself if what you are truly capable of. You may even end up doing something you never imagined. After all, the “only source of knowledge is experience.”Β  You’ll never know if you don’t try!

 

Mistakes quote

 

UB: 3. Exactly that’s it in a nutshell πŸ˜‰ So when you’re faced with problems, whether in life, work, study, what is your go to?

AE: Ah life’s problems. You would have heard me say that I was never smart, I just tend to stay with problems for longer. But not just in my study room. To be honest, I find life’s greatest problems to be solved faster and beyond what I ever imagined by simply taking a walk in the park. In the outside world, you see things and hear things that unlocks your mind. “Look deep into nature and then you will understand everything better.”

Which leads me to my next philosophy…

 

Life problems

 

UB: That’s the same for me! I wished I known this when I was in high school. Better late than never though. Cause it’s so true! We’re moving onto the second part of the interview now where it’s all about you.

AE: Fire away.

UB: 4. What defines a genius?

AE: Interesting question, To this I would say, “intellectuals solve problems, geniuses prevent them.” You know that you’re truly intelligent not because you have knowledge but have imagination. For me I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious.

 

Genius quote

 

UB: 5. Wow. Life changing words I’d say! Just to jazz up the interview a bit, what’s something you’re not well-known for but are really good at?

AE: You have a very perceptive mind UB. Ready? Giving love advice. As I say frequently to my colleagues and students, “You can’t blame gravity for falling in love”. Falling in love is the easy bit. Staying in love on the other hand is a long life harder journey. Β And believe it or not, I have a Twitter account @AlbertEinstein.

UB: 6. Why thank you. Wow love advice, I definitely did not see that coming. Your genius knows no bounds! Β So your life motto?

AE: 3 actually.

Life quote

 

Miracles quote

 

Life is...

 

UB: 7. Β Inspiring mottos to live by! πŸ˜‰ Any last words?

AE: β€œThe world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don’t do anything about it.” If you see something that needs to be changed, it is your duty, your legacy, to do something about it πŸ˜‰

UB: Powerful ending to an insightful interview to kick-start the series. Thanks Al!

All quotes from Top 51 Motivational Quotes From Albert Einstein, Indihope πŸ˜‰

Who would you like to see next on I’m a history buff and would ask…?

Leave a Reply

