UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

U is for Ugli Fruit – Day 21

on April 25, 2016

image

 

Say what now? Well I was kinda stuck for a ‘u’ fruit or veg and turns out there’s ugli fruit! A Jamaican cross breed of a tangerine and grapefruit šŸ˜‰ An ugly fruit with a delicious secret =) (old wrinkly green till ripen time)

Fellow blogger at the Kitchen has a great post of the ins and outs of ugli fruit šŸ˜‰ But what struck me the most was – it’s another heart shaped fruit! Now strawberry has a partner. A fancier orange with a difference!

Fun facts about ugli fruit

šŸ˜‰ It had 80 years in the wilderness before its discovery!
šŸ˜‰ Ripened on the tree but even if it stayed green, it’s still just as sweet and juicy.
šŸ˜‰ Crazy overly price!

Where strawberry meets another heart shaped fruit šŸ˜‰

7 responses to “U is for Ugli Fruit – Day 21

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    My parents used to have a framed poster of fruits from A to Z in the kitchen. Ugli fruit was the U, though I don’t recall if I’ve ever tasted it.

    Like

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    Sometimes it’s the ugly ones that have the best flavor. I’m fond of the Kaffir Lime and its leaves. That is the ugliest fruit I’ve ever cooked with and the most flavorful.

    Like

    • unibookworm says:

      Yes that’s so true! Black seasame pudding is another one of those perceptions. When I first saw it, I thought concrete mix. But lo and behold, a nutty peanut flavour! =)

      Like

  3. Liz Brownlee says:

    I tasted t once and it was lovely. I haven’t seen it lately in the supermarket. ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Like

  4. I.L. Wolf says:

    I don’t know if I’ve tried it, but having a name like that must be really tough on that fruit’s self esteem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

