UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

J is for Jackfruit – Day #10

on April 12, 2016
jackfruit

Flavours of Brazil 2012

Can’t believe by the end of the week that I’ll be halfway in the A-Z blogging challenge. πŸ˜‰ Special shout out to those who have stopped by and I’ll most certainly return the favour! Today’s feature fruit is actually one of the few Asian fruits I like πŸ˜‰ Delicious on its own straight out of the can with syrup (drools). Or an extra special pizzaz on any type of desert. Pavlova. Ice cream. Pancakes. The only limit is your imagination!

This tropical fruit isn’t just delicious it’s filled with nutrients too! Most notably the B group ones πŸ˜‰

Fun facts about jackfruitΒ 

πŸ˜‰ Grown all around India, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia and Brazil. Not just for the fruit but seeds and wood!

πŸ˜‰ Tropical humidity and rain is jackfruit’s best friend to help them to grow.

πŸ˜‰ They grow on a tree! Up to 30m tall with as much as 250 huge fruits hanging!

πŸ˜‰ Comes in all shapes and sizes. From a light 3kg to a 30kg one that’s 60cm long with 75cm diameter!

Try the jackfruit today!

(Thanks to Nutrition and you for the trivia facts!)

6 responses to “J is for Jackfruit – Day #10

  1. Rian Durant says:

    Yay! I can’t believe I haven’t come across your blog until now. Such sweet, short and informative post. I don’t believe I’ve tasted this and I’m so curious!

    Rian from
    Rian’s Randomness

    Like

    • unibookworm says:

      Aw thanks Rian! Especially for swinging by my blog on my birthday! Thanks for the blog follow! Am due for some really belated visits for everyone else’s A-Z challenge post XD With yours on top of my list! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Paula says:

    I have never eaten jackfruit. I am stopping by on the A to Z Challenge!!

    Paula from
    Smidgen, Snippets, & Bits

    Like

    • unibookworm says:

      Thanks Paula for the visit! Love the name of your blog =) it’s so quaint! Jackfruit is available in fruit cans generally in asian grocers πŸ˜‰ highly recommend it!

      Like

  3. Funny how you go your whole life not hearing of something and then suddenly it’s everywhere. I never heard of jackfruit until recently and then suddenly there’s a feature on it in a magazine I was reading, I get some in a food subscription box, and I come across your blog post. Well, why not – it’s delicious!

    Like

    • unibookworm says:

      So agree Jen! πŸ˜‰ I just knew about them cause it was a staple asian fruit dessert in my childhood. Definitely try some! They’re so sweet =D thanks for visiting and for your support!

      Like

Leave a Reply

