UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

#13: Talk

on November 23, 2015
Peanuts

My Peanuts 2016 calendar =)

And no, I haven’t miscounted- #12 post The Answer part 2 (just have to type it up!) πŸ˜‰

Photo of the day πŸ˜‰ Snoopy 365 day by day 2016 calendar! Thanks to Wordery ( UK bookshop online) for sending it my way with free shipping πŸ˜‰ UK just has awesome book stores in general =) Everything is way more affordable than in Aus!

Of course the song of the dayΒ is by Kodaline πŸ˜‰

 

And a tiny peek of what 2016 looks like for Unibookworm….

Peanuts comic

Yay to daily comics and puzzles =)

 

Word of the day

 

Chattering

Definition by Google 2015

 

Theme of the day

I like to talk as much as the next person about anything and everything that fascinates me or inspires me- just ask my family and friends πŸ˜‰ And I hazard a guess that you’re just the same =)

For us, the tricky thing about being a 20 something is nailing the talk for the right situation. Ums, ahs, ehs, yep, yeah, pretty much makes it in our everyday conversations without much thought. Which is definitely fine when we’re talking to our family and friends. But in an interview, we somehow have to get rid of them.

Interviews are a funny thing you know, for the interviewee it’s probably the most nerve wracking experience ever when you’re trying to convince the interviewers that you’re the perfect person for the job. While for the interviewers, chances are they are just going through the motions and perk up when they hear something that interests them. So in the interview playing field you have one nervous interviewee and nonchalant interviewers. Go figure.

Why is it that when we talk to people we know, that we’re more at ease and not talking a million miles per hour or struggling to find the right words (unless we’re in a thought provoking story or something another)? The reason for this, is that we know the person and they know us and grown comfortable being around them (and the fact that they’re not assessing you definitely helps). πŸ˜‰ But in an interview situation, it’s a whole other story. You’re put in a room with 2-3 interviewers who don’t actually know you apart from your resume/application and you have to start from square one.

Cue eeeek!

Interviews can definitely be daunting, but with practice and improvement techniques (more to be covered later), you can actually ace the interview! The thing is most of the nervousness comes from the fact that we’re anxious about the outcome or we worry that we’re not as good as other candidates. Which is why we’re not coming across as our natural selves. But from my interview experiences, and this year in particular my mantra has become never let the pressure overpower the fun (I may be quoting from Kodaline’s Ready song). Yes that’s right, the fun and adventure of visiting a new workplace, the fact that you out of the other hundred applicants- were chosen. Let that sink in. πŸ˜‰

Although I’ve come a long way from my very first interviews- I’m still learning as well. After all, not all of is are naturally gifted in marketing ourselves verbally, so for us we need to work just a tad bit harder. To overcome nervousness, I’ve found that not focusing on the outcome actually helps you to be you naturally. As for worrying that I’m not good enough against the other candidates- to combat that I amp out my passion and enthusiasm (which also coincidentally over powers the nerves). And I ask myself, what would I say if I knew that I would not fail. and I do it πŸ˜‰

Now it’s just mastering the art of the the pace of talking. I fall under the category of talking in a roundabout speed πŸ˜‰ (I am looking for radio volunteer roles to help master the art of speed). For others, you might fall in the opposite category of trying to find the right words to say.
Whichever category you find yourself in, I learnt last week that the only way to improve our art of talking is to actually record it and play it back from Danny Rubin’s Why You Need to Hear Your Own Voice (Even Though You Don’t Like to) post.

So my top tips for interviews A game?

1. Do a pre-interview before the actual interview πŸ˜‰ after planning your answers, I would recommend recording yourself answering potential questions and then playing it back and noting areas of improvement. This will definitely help you get in the mindset of crafting succinct answers that answer the question πŸ˜‰ and master the right tone, speed and all.

2. During the interviewbreathe
I know it’s tempting to say the first thing that pops into our minds, but don’t forget that the interview is a 2 way conversation πŸ˜‰ If you need more time to get your thoughts together (and avoid rambling), my go to is to ask- would you mind repeating that question? Or my personal favourite, that’s a great question! I would say… Never underestimate the power of delaying just for a few seconds.

3. After the interview (woohoo you made it out!)
Make notes of how the interview went, the good and bad πŸ˜‰ and then do a post interview recording of what they actually asked you and what you would have said in a perfect world πŸ˜‰

Regardless of the outcome of the interview, awesome job in landing the interview πŸ˜‰ You’re already half way there to your dream job. As I like to say, every no you get is one yes closer to the dream job πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

