UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

#5: Gone, gone, gone…

on October 30, 2015

Song of the day is from the epic FitzSimmons fan videos from Agents of Shield. πŸ˜‰ (The adorkable biochem and engineering duo). This song always makes me smile =) * Fans even made the FitzSimmons movie trailer (which for some reason us no longer available for viewing though ><“)

 

Ah! Still working on my theme a day backlog posts, but hopefully today I’ll finally catch up and get a chance to writer my Cake Bake and Sweet Show review πŸ˜‰ can’t believe it’s been a week already since I was at the epic event!

After playing catch up with my blog posts, I’ve now figured that the best way is spend the early morning writing my 800 words πŸ˜‰ and then the arvo editing. With this new game plan, the theme of day series will finally be freshly pressed πŸ˜‰ And of course other catch up posts, like my winter musings 2nd half (still haven’t posted the Docklands fireworks sorry!) Don’t worry they are definitely on the way!!

 

Photo of the day πŸ˜‰

 

Duck

My rubber duckies raffle

 

As you may or may not know this year, I was fundraising for the Support the Duck epic race to raise lifesaving funds to end cancer. The Unibookworm’s Cancer Saving Duckies crew in fact! And above is the number of my rubber duck πŸ˜‰ getting the mailed version certainly made my day this week πŸ˜‰ As it brought back flashbacks of all the great fun I had creating and promoting my fundraiser way back in September!

 

Word of the day is…

Sol

 

 

 

 

 

 

Random science fact of the day. And random note of the day, for the rest of my word of day series- all the words will be from the must read Artemis Fowl series πŸ˜‰

I actually didn’t know exactly what solstice actually meant until today. NASA explains it pretty well with their nifty diagram.

 

NASA

Image by NASA 2013

 

In short, a solstice occurs twice a year only- for Summer and Winter. Which explains the season changes, as in why the days seems longer in summer and shorter in winter. Here is where it gets interesting though, everyone knows that Winter starts in June and Summer in December (for us Southern Hemisphere people πŸ˜‰ but did you know that the Winter Solstice marks the official shortest day and longest night of the year? And that the Summer Solistice marks the officially the longest day and shortest night? Pretty amazing huh? And the dates vary every year! June 20-22 marks the Winter and December 20-22 marks the Summer (Wikipedia 2015). I don’t know about you but I’m definitely going to take note for the Summer one on the way! πŸ˜‰

And it gets even better! There’s even festivals that celebrate the event (nooooo I missed the Light of Winter in Fed Square ;( and the Molecule of Light) Why was I not informed City of Melbourne? Thank goodness for the Internet pics and videos although it’s not the same but still it’s something! Well this marks the discovery of the day.

Even though it’s gone, gone, gone- there’s always next year.

Gone, Gone, Gone Lyrics by Phillips Phillips

When you fall like a statue
I’m going be there to catch you
Put you on your feet, you on your feet.
And if your well is empty
Not a thing will prevent me.
Tell me what you need, what do you need?
I surrender honestly.
You’ve always done the same for me.

Every time I hear this song, it comes to mind the family and friends that you care about πŸ˜‰ That when life is down for them, that you’re going to be there for them just the same way you know that they would for you.

When they need a listening ear, you’re right there genuinely hanging onto their every word. With no judgement, clichΓ©d words of encouragement, or opinion. Just having you listen and care is more than enough πŸ˜‰

When they’re not feeling too well, you’re right there with ice bottle or hot tea and blankets.

When they need something to remind them of the brand new day of life, you order the most beautiful flowers that they’ve ever seen.

When they’re struggling with job hunting, you give them encouragement and help them in the right direction.

Whatever you’re helping your family and friends with, the main thing is that you’re there in person not from a far. It may at times be exhausting especially when you’re caring for a sick family member or friend, and all the things you need to get done fall behind. But know this, they truly appreciate it and it means the world to them that you’re here for them.

So from them to you, thank you for helping them be brave, happy and back on their feet.

Leave a Reply

