UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

#4: Way back when

on October 29, 2015
Paris

Paris 1000 piece by Typo & pretty frame from Reject Shop surprisingly!

 

Funny story actually… The poster pictured above in the pretty frame was actually intended for my Typo 1000 piece puzzle. After all, it made complete sense that the A3 poster included was to help build puzzle. Well that’s what I thought, until I read the side of the box… Full puzzle assembled size is 80 cm X 50cm. Cue I should learn how to read moment!

Song of the day, as you may have guessed is called Way Back When (by Kodaline of course 😉

 

 

And as for word of the day, I figured that I would do something rather special… Each day in the theme a day post, I’ll be including a word hunt just for fun 😉 Look for the word of the day in my post, and make a note of the word and sentence. At the end of the year ( 67 posts wowies!), I’ll present to you a poem and an a canvas from the word hunt 😉 Pretty nifty eh? And along the way, as we get through more posts, feel free to post your comments of what the canvas and poem will be!

Oh and for you dedicated readers to my blog, just wanted to say kudos to you for picking up that I’m slightly running behind with my posts! And while I’m currently still working on backlog posts, the themes that I’m posting are the actual ones that I was in fact inspired on the day to write 😉 But from tomorrow onwards, I’ll be getting up early in the morning to give you freshly pressed posts! (well here’s hoping 😉 Just wanted to acknowledge that.

Today’s word is…

Reminisce

Definition by Google 2015

 

 

 

 

 

I think from memory, the first time that I ever encountered the word was in Year 12 from one of the English books 😉 which then quickly became one of my favourite words. Which just reminds me… (ha, see what I did there? I’m reminiscing already). Pretty much 13 years of the school life is dedicated to teaching English but in uni there is none. That’s why the word English just means a language to me now not a subject!

Theme of the Day:

Way Back When Lyrics

Oh, yeah, those will be the days that I’ll be missing
When I’m old and when I’m grey and when I stop working
I hope that I can say
When all my days are done
That I had my fun

Yeah time can move so fast
Some things aren’t made to last
So here’s to you, my dear old friend
From way back when

Those will be the days that I had my fun (Kodaline 2013 Way Back When Lyrics)

The words of Way Back When make me reminisce.
Of the times when I didn’t have much to do.
Relaxing at home with the beautiful weather outside my window.
Green grass and sunny days with swirly unique clouds.
A paradise.

Moments like this, today. And Happy Thursday by the way!
When I have all the time in the world to build a 1000 piece puzzle 😉 will be starting tomorrow nigh! So excited!!! Just have to find the right frame.

But way back when moments aren’t only the ones where you don’t have much to do. In fact to me, way back when moments are also the ones when you look back and were the most happiest and content that you’ve ever been.

Whether it be sitting on the train, looking out the window and sipping on your green tea latte and sighing in content that you’ve finished exams.

Or the time when you met someone who inspired you.
And of course the time when you finally finished 3 major projects in the middle of the night/early morning (yay and congrats!)
It even could be the very first time you drove or went to uni.

These moments are like the lantern light memory box, waiting for you to tinker them out whoever you feel happy, sad or in between. They’re not the same as nostalgia. Nostalgia is when you look back on memories and see them behind rosy glassed windows where everything seemed perfect and you want to go back to that moment. But way back when moments, are the ones you reminisce and ponder on whenever you need encouragement or a daily dose of uppage! To give you the strength to keep going. 😉

That you did something similar before. And if you did it back then, you can certainly do it now. For me, that’s my driving (aiming to get P’s at the end of the year 😉

And don’t forget it can be the people you met that inspired you! I believe that everything that’s ever happened to you, the people who inspired you and your way back when moments have helped you become the person that you are today.

What are your way back when moments? Please do share!

2 responses to “#4: Way back when

  1. Michael says:

    We all have our moments! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

