UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

Green tea lattes and Melbourne musings =)

on August 8, 2015

So July is now officially over… (sniffs).

Snoopy

Image by Snoopy Creator

 

I honestly don’t know where the time went and now it’s August already! I sorta just feel like I missed my Christmas in July this year ;( But it’s not too bad… Uni break starts next week ( although it’s not really a break with 7 projects in the works!! Thank goodness they’re not due at the same time πŸ˜‰ So if you’re like me being buried under uni stuff and desperately need to reminisce the better days of a July winter holidays, read on =)

1. Attempt to be your own barista at home =)

While I don’t actually drink coffee (hehe a uni student who doesn’t drink coffee- that must be unheard of), I’m actually obsessed with Starbucks soy green tea lattes πŸ˜‰ (well matcha lattes to me). There’s nothing better than having a tall soy matcha latte with no syrup (ha, I’ve been ordering them for too long now that I actually can speak the Starbucks lingo!) after a long dreary day of travelling to uni or work.

Side note, if you’re ever planning to visit a Starbucks the Elizabeth St one is the most awesome one! If great customer service that’s speedy but friendly in a relaxing environment is your thing, that’s the only one worthwhile to visit! πŸ˜‰ The others for me remind me too much of New York getting flustered and annoyed waiting for your orders. While the back entrance of Flinders Starbucks nails the order in less than 5 minutes- no matter the crazy queues =)

But with spending $5 on a matcha latte every day, the costs definitely racks up. So I thought why not try brewing it at home? Now I won’t go into the disaster of buying matcha powder from a Japanese that had the milk in the packet (ugh). But after months of searching for the right matcha powder brand, I found it from Cupcake Central! (Check out their delish cupcakes at Cupcake Central)!

So this Friday, I gave it a go with brewing my own matcha latte =) With Vitasoy Milky Regular soy milk (this created more foam in my milk frother as opposed to the other Vitasoy drinks πŸ˜‰ and Matcha Maiden green tea powder, I had everything I needed! Using my milk frother (that’s kind of a kettle just to boil milk) and my little whisk, off I went =)

The amount of foam made was never ending! It was like spooning clouds of fluffy cloud foam/marshmallow in my latte =) so much fun πŸ˜‰ Only thing was that the milk frother doesn’t really heat up the foam as much =( so semi cold, but the drink was hot, Taste was pretty good, but I guess it’ll never compare to the barista made smooth and creamy latte texture that’s been evenly heated. But fun nonetheless! And bonus, I can now make Cadbury caramel hot chocolate whenever I want =D

Green tea latte

My usual tall soy matcha latte at Starbucks Elizabeth St =)

Matcha latte

My foamy home made matcha latte =)… The verdict is Starbucks the winner though!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Bake ice cream cupcakes πŸ˜‰

Ice cream cupcakes

Ice cream cupcakes by Brown Eyed Baker 2015

When I first saw this on browneyedbaker’s blog, I was like this is amazing! But I really thought she made the cupcakes and then put them in the ice cream cones. Until I read the recipe and realised she baked the whole thing in the cones!!! πŸ˜‰ wow wow. Why didn’t I think of this first? I love ice cream and cupcakes- so why not combine the both? Would love to give this recipe a go but with a broken oven, it’s up to you Unibookworm readers!

 

 

Side note, the Michelle the food blogger for this recipe actually combined her live for baking into her own business! So now she blog bakes for a living, which is awesome! πŸ˜‰ I hope to do something like this someday…

 

 

 

3. Visit the Docklands Friday night fireworks show πŸ˜‰

Docklands fireworks

Image by City Melbourne 2015

Ok so maybe the Christmas in July feeling isn’t over then? Docklands is running weekly fireworks shows with different themed festivals every Friday till the 28th of August! Don’t miss out =) Details are all here.

4. Go to a place that you’ve never been before but always wanted to…

I’ve always always wanted to visit the Parliament House and Old Treasury Building but never got around to it. Funny how that happens when I practically pass it every year but never go in ><” always busy, rushing to places I have to be like uni or work. But this year, I’m going!!! πŸ˜‰

5. Discover places about Melbourne that you never knew existed!

Play Melbourne

Image by Visit Victoria 2015

I stumbled upon the Play Melbourne app and was stunned to find out about places that I never knew about. Places like the Enchanted Adventure garden, the Fed Square roof top garden and the Cumulus cafe =) Check it out!

 

Fed Square garden

Image by Pop Up Patch 2015

More winter wonderland ideas to come soon =)!

Leave a Reply

